Skip navigation
Sedgemoor District Council on YouTube Sedgemoor District Council on Twitter Sedgemoor District Council News RSS feed Today's weather: Current Weather From the Met Office : opens in a new browser window 23°C

The Council

0300 303 7800
Website URL : The Control Id 'trail' could not be resolved to an actual control., Type=iCMRender.Controls.Value, ID=MainBlock (~/sedgemoor/index.master)

Councillors and Councils within Sedgemoor

Find out about your local Council, as well as recent Reports, Agendas & Minutes (RAM).

The Chairman of Sedgemoor District Council is the district's first citizen and the civic figure head for the whole Council. For the 2015/2016 year Councillor Ian Dyer has been elected as Chairman. The Vice-Chairman is Councillor Mike Cresswell. Axbridge, Bridgwater, Burnham on sea and North Petherton Town Councils each have their own elected Mayor, for more details please contact the Town Clerk's.

Reports, agendas and minutes

Sedgemoor District Council has made all reports, agendas, minutes and decision notices, as well as documents from past and present Committee meetings, available online.

To access these documents, please visit the following page: Reports, Agendas & Minutes

Member Development

Sedgemoor District Council is committed to learning and development for its Councillors. It recognises the contribution that such investment can make in supporting elected members in their various roles and, as with its staff, it is committed to realising the potential of Councillors to contribute fully to the success of the organisation. The Council has adopted a planned approach to Councillors Development and to actively involve elected members in setting the priorities for learning and development each year and in reviewing the operation and outcomes of the Learning & Development Programme.

For more information on Member Development, please see pdf icon Member Development [11kb]

Becoming a Councillor

If you are interested in becoming a  District Councillor, a small booklet containing an outline of the councillor's role is available from the council's press office. There is a link below that is a generic view of becoming a councillor at any level.

To obtain this, please contact Customer Services.

  • Find your Councillor or MP

    Find details about your local Ward Councillor, contact information for local Members of Parliament and the Member's of the European Parliament for the South West, and how to make a complaint about a Councillor.

  • Leader of Council's Office, the Chief Executive and Civic Office

    The Leader of Sedgemoor District Council is Councillor Duncan McGinty and he is the political leader of the Council. The Chairman of the Council, Councillor Mike Cresswell, is the District's first citizen and the civic figurehead of the whole Council. This is a non-political appointment.

  • Parish and Town Councils

    Do you need to contact your Parish or Town Council? Here you will find the full list for Sedgemoor with links to their contact details.

  • Sedgemoor District Council background information

    Read about the Council's history, our political and management structure, our role and constitution.

  • The Constitution

    The Constitution determines how the Council operates, how decisions are made and procedures to be adhered to in order to be efficient, transparent and accountable to local people.

  • Committee meetings and membership

    Council members form a variety of committees to control specific areas of the Council. These committees meet on a regular basis, normally within the main Council building at Bridgwater House, King Square. The meetings are open to public attendance, except when confidential (exempt) business is being dealt with.

Cookies on this site.